Meowmix Spotlight


Yes I got interviewed by Gazoinks right after Bigshark did. Funny huh?

Yes, that’s right, it’s time for the second review  of the season, presented by yours truly.  If  you’re new to the MeowMix Spotlight Review,  we search for a texture that particularly  impresses us and review it.

This week we present Midna (real form), a texture hack turning Zelda into Midna from Twilight Princess.  It was designed by fireking220 of Cursed Portal (and Elite Smash Hackers).  This is an amazing texture, and I think you’ll like it.

I was lucky enough to secure an interview with fireking220 over Google Talk.  The results were quite revealing.

me: [Interview Start]

So, I was browsing around the Brawl Hacking sites and I saw your Midna. It immediately struck me as one of the most detailed hacks I’ve seen. What inspired you to create it?

fireking220: well ever since syntax error made one and they went under I saw no one else had made one so one thing led to another and there she was

i wanted her to be the most deatailed she could be

me: You made the Twilight series of character hacks as well. Do you have a particular love of Twilight Princess?

fireking220: yes i do. Ever since I played it I was in love with Midna’s charater and the story it presented

me: I have to say I agree with you. Though we’re in the minority there.

Anyway, about how long did the creation of this texture take?

fireking220: well I tend to take quite a few breaks during my work but I have to say 5 days to get everything just right

2 days of testing

thats about it

me: Wow, that’s much faster than I expected

fireking220: it took 3 weeks cause of all the breaks i took though

me: I’ve always found Zelda’s texture rather annoying. Was there a lot of back-and-forth from the Wii to the computer for testing?

fireking220: yes there was. You have no idea how long it took to get her skirt to line up with her skin

me: You may be surprised, I started a Zelda texture once but gave up because of the same problem.

Now, it’s evident how much work went into this texture. Would you consider it your best?

fireking220: yes I would consider it my best work “so far”

me: Ah, always nice to see someone who’s willing to top themselves.

What is your favorite part of your Midna texture?

fireking220: hmmm… well I have to say the body or the jewels

ever since I made those original jewels I’ve seen the same design pop up in other midnas

me: Yes, you did a great job on the jewels. A lot of hackers have a tendency to ignore the ones that can’t be made transparent but you actually incorporated them into the design. Major kudos for that.

fireking220: thank you very much

I didn’t want them to be just jewels glued to her skin cause I felt that would be a bit akward

It was always something that annoyed me

me: Well you did a great job on incorporating them.

On a more negative note, what do you think was the worst or most difficult part of the project?

fireking220: hmmm…

I actually don’t know

I guess it would be the skirt

or the body

me: Do you have any secret plans for your next texture you’d be willing to reveal?

fireking220:  well I’m glad you asked that. I can’t reveal any details yet but I can give you a few hints. It’s on Samus and it’s from a game that came out not too long ago

me: I’m sure our users will have fun guessing at it.

Well, I’m pretty much out of questions. Do you have any last words for your adoring fans?

fireking220: well I always followed one qoute my whole texture hacking career. To all the texture hackers out there, “perfect is just a boundry. If you can break it wonderous things can happen”

me: That’s a wonderful quote and I hope more texture hackers create hacks with this motto.

fireking220: thank you

me: Thanks for participating in the MeowMix Spotlight Review!

fireking220: thank you. It has been an honor.

me: [/interview]

And there you have it.  The facts behind this great texture.   Vote for this post to reflect your feelings for the texture.  Thank you for reading and be sure to catch the next review!

The texture can be found at fireking220’s KittyCorp gallery.


8 Responses to “Meowmix Spotlight”


  1. 1 Gazoinks 07/09/2009 at 9:59 AM

    *cough* Do I look like Jack Harvest?

  2. 2 fireking220 07/09/2009 at 10:01 AM

    lol srry I was lazy and tired *yawn* just got up at 6:00 i’ll fix it right away.

  3. 3 wii 07/09/2009 at 10:04 AM

    Nice interview and greaf texture, congratulations man.
    Ill be taking a guess at the secret texture u mentioned and ill say mr ford?

  4. 4 Shadow 07/09/2009 at 10:35 AM

    Does this count as a page for your Midna on the roster?

    I remember when I saw your first attempt, the dress was a bit weird to me, and was missing something. Then, when I saw this, it looked exactly like she was in the game (Or, if that’s how I remembered it). I orgasmed, and downloaded. Lulz.

  5. 5 fireking220 07/09/2009 at 10:48 AM

    The dress b4 I took from some fanart. I later changed it when other midna’s popped up to keep up with the changing times as they say. I’m much happier with her now. Although her skin will be a bit darker when I revamp her again.

  6. 6 wii 07/09/2009 at 12:11 PM

    Are the back of the ears skin color or was that picture taken before u did the skin?

  7. 7 Bonzai 07/09/2009 at 12:29 PM

    We shall claim all spotlights 😄

  8. 8 fireking220 07/09/2009 at 1:14 PM

    @Wii

    O the last pic? That was a older version. I only provided 3 screenshots of my newest version so Gazionks had to find another pic. So to answer ur question the first 3 pics r the most up to date, the back of her ears r dark blueish grey. The last pic is very outdated.


Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,462,155 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

