Enough with LZ77ex!


I’ve been surprised at how many people are using lz77ex to extract pcs/pac files that have been lz77 compressed, it’s EXTREMELY slow and bulky.

Gbalzss is a much better program. It does pretty much everything that lz77ex does but faster. Extracting pcs files takes less than a second. Extracting larger files like stages and the common files takes 2-3 seconds at most from my experience.

To use it type in a command line: gbalzss d putting in the input and output file names.

If that’s too much for you i’ve included a .bat that will convert all pcs files in the current folder to pac files. And if you like drag and drop, i’ve included a .bat that lets you drop a file on it to decompress it. Just be sure to throw gbalzss in your system32 folder

Anyway, here’s the link to the program:
http://www.mediafire.com/?mx5jomcmgwm


15 Responses to “Enough with LZ77ex!”


  1. 1 Jose Gallardo 07/16/2009 at 1:54 AM

    I do lots of large PAC file extracting with lz77ex, and although slow, it gets the job done. I will try gbalzss. So you are the author of gbalzss?

    I’ll let you know how smoothly this runs.

  2. 2 Sky Walker 07/16/2009 at 1:55 AM

    First ?!

  3. 3 Sky Walker 07/16/2009 at 1:55 AM

    lol damn .. not first ๐Ÿ˜„
    i’ll try it anyway =3

  4. 4 Jose Gallardo 07/16/2009 at 2:22 AM

    The drag & drop gbalzss is great. made a custom item texture in a matter of minutes. The only thing I would change is the fact that the .BAT says pcs2pac, when it can extract pretty much most PAC stuff, and it doesn’t necessarily convert PCS to PAC files.

  5. 5 Bonzai 07/16/2009 at 7:23 AM

    I already have the program. It came with Edit Music Titles (Gee, wonder who put that there ๐Ÿ˜€ )

  6. 6 Wave Kusanagi 07/16/2009 at 9:44 AM

    I’m confused. You said to put it in the system32 folder. Is that the only place I put it at? And do I only put the gbalzss file there? If so, I don’t see a point in this. Having to go to the system32 folder everytime I wanna use this seems like a pain -.o

  7. 7 BigSharkZ 07/16/2009 at 11:19 AM

    Welcome back Moose. How were your vacations? Also, not everyone noticed but he made lots of music here: http://www.mediafire.com/eshmusic. Everyone complain that they can’t find good music so here you go. It’s the best ones you can find.

    I’ll try this out later.

  8. 8 Vyse 07/16/2009 at 1:11 PM

    Can I comment here now? >_>

    While the slowness of lz77ex has never bothered me before, I’ll be sure to upgrade.

    Also, can you answer my question? How did you figure out that the sample number of loop points must be a multiple of 14336?

  9. 9 Moosehunter 07/16/2009 at 7:11 PM

    Gbalzss has been around for at least a year or two, it’s not my creation

    @BigSharkZ
    I’m not really back from vacation yet, I just have a day or two with access to a computer
    And I gave you gbalzss about a month or so ago. Remember the modified Stage ASH I sent you that used gbalzss instead of lz77ex?

    @Wave Kusanagi
    I said put gbalzss in system32 for simplicity, so you don’t have to have it in your current folder when extracting.

    @Jose Gallardo
    Um… yeah it does unless you decompressing, say, example.pcs with example.pac already in the folder, then it will output example.pcs.out

    @Vyse
    It wasn’t me who figured it out, I just relayed the information to everybody else.
    But the explanation of why it’s 14336: The brstm drivers Nintendo put in the game are made only to be able to seek instantaneously to the boundry of a block which happens to be 14336

  10. 10 Arceus3000 07/24/2009 at 12:12 AM

    Where is the system32 folder?

  11. 11 Shadow 07/24/2009 at 1:44 AM

    ^ Lmfao.

  12. 12 Arceus3000 07/24/2009 at 12:00 PM

    I did a search of my computer for it and was unable to find it.

  13. 13 Arceus3000 07/24/2009 at 12:13 PM

    Wait, never mind, I found it.

  14. 14 Arceus3000 07/24/2009 at 10:07 PM

    Now it’s closing too quickly to type anything into it. How can I keep it open long enough to type anything at all into it?

  15. 15 GaryCXJk 06/29/2010 at 6:13 PM

    While LZ77ex is slow as fuck, it was only created so other people could actually use it to create their own programs to handle LZ compressing. It’s the same reason I made that image thingy program I forgot what it did, probably that TEX0 block for Brawl. Both actually had some use for some programmer, although I’m not sure it was BrawlBox that actually ended up using both LZ77ex and that other program as a reference or not.

    Point is, the LZ77ex thing was just made as an experiment, to help people understand how it was compressed. Also, thanks to that, I was able to use that knowledge to create a very crude program to decompress LZ compressed files in WarioWare D.I.Y. into files usable in programs like CrygorTool and MIOTool. Not that it really has any use, seeing as using RAM dumps does the trick fairly well, but still. It’s all in the name of science. Or research. Whatever.

    That, and Gbalzss isn’t open source. I dislike that. So that’s probably another reason why I created LZ77Ex.


Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,462,165 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

