What do you think about this?


Since everybody else suddenly decided to post teasers, I thought I’d hop on the bandwagon and do the same.

Except this time it’s not a texture, animation, model, or moveset. It’s something entirely different…

During the past week or so I’ve been working on a way to organize BRSTMs. This is a little preview of what it’s going to be like when it’s finished.

Basically I need some feedback on how it looks and any suggestions on what the finished thing should be like. Some things like the column select have been finished functionally but not visually.

In the comments post:
How fast/slow it loads
How fast/slow the youtube video fully loads
Anything that confused you
What could be better
Whatever the crap you feel like saying

http://brawlbrstms.50webs.com/


23 Responses to “What do you think about this?”


  1. 1 RoyPh123X 01/11/2010 at 5:16 PM

    this is great! finally a site just dedicated to BRSTMs!

  2. 2 fireking220 01/11/2010 at 5:24 PM

    fantastic, this is just fantastic. Although I dont use music myself, this will be great for people who want to get there music quick and easy instead of looking all over the place.

  3. 3 Calamitas 01/11/2010 at 5:28 PM

    As long as this game doesn’t have File Replacement 3.5.1 for PAL, I am currently uninterested.

  4. 4 Lexx 01/11/2010 at 5:42 PM

    I found the site pretty nice, mostly everything worked fine. There was an issues where a few previews wouldn’t work, but I think that can be overlooked for the time being. I especially liked how you got the YouTube playback bar at the bottom. Loading time was great for shorter songs, but I found that it pretty much stopped loading half-way through on longer ones. It’s pretty bland right now, but I’m sure you can fix that up fairly quickly.

    Positives:
    [+] Excellent and inventive concept.
    [+] Utilizes YouTube’s user-friendly playback.
    [+] A large and useful library of BRSTMs are organized on one page, getting rid of boring tasks such as searching several sites.
    [+] Fairly straight-forward interface.

    Negatives:
    [-] Quick loading time on shorter songs, but seemed to lag during longer ones.
    [-] Bland design.

    All in all, I can see it heading places. The flaws are very minor at this point, and can probably be fixed in a matter of days/weeks.

  5. 5 Lexx 01/11/2010 at 5:43 PM

    *quick

  6. 6 Unai 01/11/2010 at 5:52 PM

    Oh, this is nice… Shit… I’m PAL, gotta fuck myself.

  7. 7 Mewcario 01/11/2010 at 6:36 PM

    Very good idea. I’m fine with the way the site is now. Of course, it’ll probably get more organized as the site becomes more popular… But we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it. For now, I like it.

  8. 8 STUFF2o 01/11/2010 at 7:03 PM

    Awesome sauce.

  9. 9 vcv 01/11/2010 at 7:20 PM

    Great very intuitive

  10. 10 moosehunter 01/11/2010 at 7:47 PM

    @lexx
    Which ones didn’t work? The only one’s that shouldn’t work are “Scars of Time” (Video is set on private) and “On the Beach of Dreams – Small” which I forgot to delete (now deleted)

    That’s the best we’re going to do with youtube. The largest song is 5 MB with a 4kbps video bitrate and 109/138kbps (standard/hd) audio bitrate. Youtube seems to want to save its own bandwidth so it loads the song for a little over a minute at full speed and then slows down.

    And another plus you forgot to mention. Very easy to add more to the list. Checkout the source.
    I’ve got a spreadsheet where I enter all the song data and then copy/paste to the webpage.

    And because it’s free hosting, we’re stuck with simple javascript, nothing beyond that.

  11. 11 VGKamikaze 01/11/2010 at 7:49 PM

    Great idea, and the progress looks good so far!

  12. 12 Lexx 01/11/2010 at 8:19 PM

    @ moosehunter

    Ahh, shit. Forgot which ones didn’t work. Guess I should’ve paid more attention. My apologies. I can’t seem to find them again, though.

    Also, it’s no issues about the preview thing. I figured that was the case. You really only need about 30 seconds to preview a song.

    And yes, it’s very easy to add to the list.

    And the plain design isn’t a problem, as long as it gets the job done.

  13. 13 RAWRzilla 01/11/2010 at 8:28 PM

    Excellent, love it. As long as you (we?) keep adding songs to it, it’ll be stellar, absolutely stellar.

  14. 14 kaiseryoshi 01/11/2010 at 11:34 PM

    As long as there’s some quality control, I can get behind it.

    And a way to tell looped from unlooped songs.

  15. 15 moosehunter 01/12/2010 at 12:06 AM

    @kaiseryoshi
    Yes, that is one thing I don’t like about the list on Smashboards. I on having all the songs checked before they’re put up on the list.

  16. 16 thanyou 01/12/2010 at 1:27 AM

    I was able to load all the songs I played very fast, there wasn’t any buffer or anything
    Very fast
    The site design was very straightforward, so everything was easy and not very complicated.
    The design and organization. By Organization, I mean it should be categorized by Genre and in alphabetical order, but I guess its not TOO important as you can just use Cntrl+F, which will be neccessary when this gets going.
    Great idea Moose, only question is how do we update this list with our .brstms?

  17. 17 moosehunter 01/12/2010 at 5:28 PM

    I guess I could add a genre column if people really wanted it.
    And if you want it sorted a certain way just click the column header.

    And I’ll figure the updating thing out when I’m finished, though I already have some ideas.

  18. 18 Lexx 01/12/2010 at 5:35 PM

    Moose, I think you should lead ESH now. Just saying. I always helped BSZ make decisions and stuff, but now we’re both gone, and I think you’re the most capable of leading the team.

  19. 19 moosehunter 01/12/2010 at 11:46 PM

    @Lexx
    Hmm… Yeah, I’d have to agree with you on that.

  20. 20 NerdWithAnAfro 02/14/2010 at 8:23 PM

    this looks very promising. very fast, very organized, and nothing in the way (such as other posts or 20 different pages). are you going to continue this or is this dropped?

  21. 21 BigSharkZ 02/14/2010 at 9:16 PM

    @NerdWithAnAfro

    He has updated a lot of it, well, ever since the last time I saw it. You just saw it late, lol.

  22. 22 NerdWithAnAfro 02/15/2010 at 10:45 AM

    @ BSZ
    Then shouldn’t this have a huge link in bold on the music page? It should also have sparkling colors that blind people like that one episode of Pokemon…

  23. 23 moosehunter 02/15/2010 at 1:03 PM

    @NerdWithAnAfro
    No, I haven’t dropped it


Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,462,165 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

