Audience Participation


With the new-and-improved Dark Interloper moveset slowly, but surely, reaching completion, I began to consider what my next move should be. However, due to my incredibly short attention span and overactive imagination, I came up with several ideas, and I can’t decide which to do.

That’s where you guys come in. I’m interested in hearing your opinions, and maybe a suggestion or two.

This picture doesn’t actually include quite everything, but those that aren’t will be revealed in a moment. I should also point out that, regardless of the character, they will use at least one edited or custom animation, and almost every attack will be altered, if only a little. Anyway, here’s the choices:

BALL KIRBY – Originating as a simple copy ability, Ball Kirby got his own game in Kirby’s Canvas Course. And, after seeing his new abilities, I almost immediately had a moveset in mind; and one that would be very accurate to his appearance in that game, to those that are sticklers for details.

META RIDLEY – Everyone’s favourite cyborg dragon. Regardless of the outcome, I will be working on him to some extent, mainly due to the fact that the concept of creating a new character almost from scratch is fascinating to me. If he is chosen though, then that will just mean he will get the whole of my attention. Keep in mind that, since he also needs animations, he will take at least twice as long as any given character listed here.

MAGMA BOWSER – I’m honestly surprised I haven’t done this yet. This was my first moveset planned ever, but I was reluctant to resume him since my first attempt was an utter failure. However, now that I know my way around PSA much better, so that is no longer an issue.

ICE MARIO – This one I actually owe a friend as the result of a wager. Fortunately, there was no time frame established, so I simply added it to my list and will get to it when I can, unless he is chosen to be my next project. Also note that this was not my texture.

YOUTH GANON – This one is probably a bit confusing, since I already made and posted this moveset some time ago. However, looking back, I’m no longer satisfied with it, and I would like to improve it to be a much better representation of his namesake.

NEORA BOWSER – Another one owed to a friend. This one would be a fairly simple moveset, as it would for the most part be just Bowser with some pretty graphics and new attack effects. Also note that this was not my texture.

SHADE PEACH – The same concept as Youth Ganon, except I’m even more unsatisfied with this one. Even between then and now, I know I could make it much better.

DARK SAMUS –  This is an idea I’ve had for some time now. Most of her attacks would derive directly from the Metroid Prime games, with a few borrowed from Samus; with the necessary alterations, of course. Also note that this was not my texture.

The following aren’t pictured, so use your imagination.

VOLCANO WISP – Based off Eldiran’s Wisp, this one would be generally the same concept, except it would cover Bowser and, obviously, be fire-based.

WISP TRAINER – Another rip-off of the best moveset maker ever; this one would replace Pokemon Trainer, and each of his Pokemon would become Wisps of their respective element. This would be a very time-consuming one, so expect quite a gap between start and finish.

ALPHONSE ELRIC – From the anime Full Meta Alchemist. Frankly, I’m not a fan of the show, but the concept of the character is interesting, and it would provide some much-needed experience in the field of more extensive hacking; meaning he would use model swaps, and sounds when possible (dammit, Vile’s taking a long time. >_>). He would replace Ganondorf, or Toon Link, if I can manage it. Also expect an abundance of kitties.

I’m also fully able to elaborate on any details regarding the character if you’re interested.

Okay, I think that covers anything worth noting at the moment. So, if you please, cast your votes below, and may the best hack win!

Ice Mario texture by shadowsquid86.

Dark Samus texture by starshadow76.

Neora Bowser texture by mysticdragon234.


52 Responses to “Audience Participation”


  1. 1 shadowsquid86 01/14/2010 at 7:21 PM

    Continue on Meta Ridley, certainly. But I would like to see Ice Mario at some point, and may I point out that there are several Emerald textures (mine, one I’ve seen that’s more accurate than mine) that resemble Ice Mario more closely. Of course, if you can’t make him skate, than just go with Meta.

  2. 2 Sonic 01/14/2010 at 7:29 PM

    Ice Mario, Magma Bowser, and Youth Ganon.

  3. 3 Kiwi96 01/14/2010 at 7:39 PM

    Alfonzo elric would be amazing if you do him i would say put him over ganondorf not toon link cant wait to see it also the other hacks look incredible

  4. 4 garrett 01/14/2010 at 7:51 PM

    ball kirby 🙂

  5. 5 yoshi6852 01/14/2010 at 7:59 PM

    I really want to see dark samus, she has a lot of cool moves that could be done

  6. 6 vcv 01/14/2010 at 8:01 PM

    I Want to see Tetra finished ;( But when metaridley will be finished we would have a new character in our rosters xp

  7. 7 Devin 01/14/2010 at 8:40 PM

    I voted Dark Samus. I’ve always wanted to see a cool moveset for the character, and I’m especially intrigued by the fact that you have some original moves straight from the Metroid Prime series for her.

    And as much as I want to play as Ridley in Smash, I’m honestly not big on the model hacking business right now. I’d rather see that when models become as easy to make and use as textures.

    So, yeah, I’d definitely say Dark Samus. 😛

  8. 8 rawrzilla22 01/14/2010 at 9:14 PM

    Having Starshadow’s textures= -_-

  9. 9 darkredscorpio 01/14/2010 at 9:29 PM

    I vote for Ice mario and Magma Bowser, but I voted for one of them though.

  10. 10 Nuke 01/14/2010 at 9:30 PM

    Where’d you get that NEORA BOWSER txs?

  11. 11 epic failure 01/14/2010 at 9:33 PM

    alfonze is awsome!do him

  12. 12 STUFF2o 01/14/2010 at 9:38 PM

    Meta Ridley! Robot pirate space pterodactyls FTW!

  13. 13 durgon 01/14/2010 at 9:42 PM

    @ Nuke – I made the Neora Bowser. He’s going to make the moveset for me cause he’s awesome. x3

  14. 14 Mewcario 01/14/2010 at 9:55 PM

    *Votes for Meta Ridley*

    *Clicks “Vote”*

    *Views poll results so far*

    …I think the people have spoken.

  15. 15 Dirtboy345 01/14/2010 at 10:35 PM

    vote for meta ridley lol but yeah thats what i voted for but 1 question is he gonna still be that huge, even if i still stand by my decision

  16. 16 kaiseryoshi 01/14/2010 at 10:38 PM

    I must be the only person on the planet who doesn’t like moveset hacks. :/

    That said, Meta Ridley looks the most interesting out of these.

  17. 17 Nuke 01/14/2010 at 10:53 PM

    @Durgon
    Can you give me a link to it??

  18. 18 Xaranid 01/14/2010 at 11:59 PM

    Obviously I say Meta Ridley lol

  19. 19 n64billy 01/15/2010 at 12:26 AM

    I’d personally like to see Ball Kirby done, because after me and VILE first discovered how to remove polygons, I’ve been wanting the EXACT gameplay mechanics from Canvas Curse to be done. I still have my original Ball Kirby file on my computer from not knowing how to hex. It took me 2 hours to get him done (A simple 4 minute task)

  20. 20 0nik4ge 01/15/2010 at 12:52 AM

    Meta Ridley hands down

  21. 21 S. 01/15/2010 at 1:11 AM

    Dark Samus. Just because she can float around. :B

    But seriously, the Meta Ridley represented in SSE/Boss Battles is a steaming pile of SHIT when compared to its original from Prime 1.
    Absolute
    SHIT.
    If you CAN improve on it, then that is my honorable mention. Fuck those FIREBALLS.

    Amuse me.

  22. 22 shadowsquid86 01/15/2010 at 1:26 AM

    For some reason, I always lose to Meta Ridley in Boss Battles. :[

  23. 23 Meta Ridley 01/15/2010 at 1:50 AM

    Bwhahahaha!!!! Vote 4 Mii!!

  24. 24 Omega Ridley 01/15/2010 at 2:15 AM

    Shut it Meta. >:[

  25. 25 thanyou 01/15/2010 at 5:21 AM

    Right now, you should finish porting Meta Ridley, and then I think you should (FINALLY) finish Magma bowser, I’ve been waiting a while for that moveset ;D

  26. 26 owned645 01/15/2010 at 8:15 AM

    youth ganon sounds fucking awesome. too bad meta ridley is winning by a landslide. youth ganon sounds kick ass, i hope it improves.

    and alphonse elric is one of my favorite anime characters. that would be pretty interesting to see

  27. 27 Waddle Dee 01/15/2010 at 8:20 AM

    Dark Samus! …if only the Lingering Sentiment could be made…

  28. 28 HacknZak 01/15/2010 at 8:50 AM

    Alphonse! If I could model hack and create PSA’s I would totally do Alphonse, but Meta Ridley is winning in rhe poll… 😦

  29. 29 Chicken Chaser 01/15/2010 at 11:51 AM

    Meta got my vote, but I would be happy to see anyone of them completed… except Alphonse Elric.

  30. 30 DFP 01/15/2010 at 12:41 PM

    I say either meta ridley or Youth ganon.

  31. 31 ]X[ 01/15/2010 at 1:22 PM

    Dark Samus. Cause She’s Hawt!

  32. 32 Schonburger 01/15/2010 at 3:25 PM

    Ball Kirby or Shade Peach.
    I haven’t seen that many movesets for those two, there have been a ton of Ikes and Marios, Ridley would also be cool, Wisp trainer seems iffy, don’t even know who elric is, and Bowser… Meh.

  33. 33 darkkirby 01/15/2010 at 5:06 PM

    i think ice mario but if you can make him shoot ice balls that frezze the enemies,and ball kirby is cool

  34. 34 razanak7 01/15/2010 at 5:46 PM

    As expected, Meta is winning by a landslide; Ball Kirby has taken up an honest second, with Dark Samus barely claiming third.

    It’s clear who the winner is here. But I’ll keep the poll up a for a while longer… who knows, someone may take a surprise lead. We might get invaded by the FMA fangirls. *shudders*

    @Dirtboy345

    He’s actually not as big as he seems, it’s just the wings and tail make him look bigger. Also, because of collision problems, if her were any smaller, then he would be almost impossible to hit.

    @Nuke

    She’s making an improved one soon.

    @Xaranid

    Well yeah. XD

    @n64billy

    If he is made, his gameplay would be very, very similar to Canvas Course; always rolling, the dash, the drawn lines, and even a stylus will appear if I can find a decent model to use.

    @thanyou

    Porting him is my next priority regarding him, and then his portraits, logo and music.

  35. 35 Durgon 01/15/2010 at 6:48 PM

    @Nuke

    Yeah I’m making a very improved one, so I’ll let you know once it’s done and give you a link to the file. 8D

  36. 36 Lexx 01/15/2010 at 8:35 PM

    Please not Meta Ridley.
    Please.

  37. 37 razanak7 01/15/2010 at 8:53 PM

    @Lexx

    And why not?

  38. 38 Lexx 01/15/2010 at 9:02 PM

    Do you realize how many people will be making it anyway? Do something more creative. Sure, Meta Ridley would be cool, but it will be even cooler when hacking advances even more. Don’t waste your time on something unoriginal. You have a lot of talent, and a few of your ideas were really creative. I say that you work on Ball Kirby or Ice Mario.*

    *Ice Mario because he’s simply an easy character to create, and I can’t see anyone doing this one.. (As unoriginal as it is).

  39. 39 PErson 01/15/2010 at 9:08 PM

    lexx just hates all things, especially moveset hacks

  40. 40 roymustangluv 01/15/2010 at 9:25 PM

    You had me at “anime” *votes for ed* =3

  41. 41 razanak7 01/15/2010 at 9:56 PM

    @Lexx

    I don’t see at all how it’s a waste of my time. Of course other people will try it, but I bet that about 99.99% of them will either give up, or produce something half-assed that hardly bares the right to carry the name. And frankly, I don’t see how any advancements in hacking would make it better. Even if something does come out in the future, I can just utilize it then; I may as well get a head start.

    And no one else is working on him anyway, especially since I’ve made him public. Either way, Meta Ridley will happen.

    Also, Ball Kirby will be a side project I work on at the same time. I find that having two projects helps give me a fresh perspective when I switch between them.

  42. 42 darkredscorpio 01/15/2010 at 10:25 PM

    @razanak7
    You know I don’t want to agree with lexx, but he’s right, the reason I agree is because well i’m not a metroid fan but seeing him in brawl shooting fireballs during the SSE:SE while on the falcon flyer was evil. and plus I would like to see Ice mario(or magma bowser) too someday. but if those FMA fangirls come, then we already know who will take 1st place.

  43. 43 ShyGuy 01/15/2010 at 11:06 PM

    I’d like to see characters that have large roles in Nintendo games, but just don’t make the cut for smash bros. games (Dark Samus) or those that just don’t seem to fit in (Ridley)

  44. 44 Mochtroid127 01/15/2010 at 11:39 PM

    No one has ever really done anything like your Ridley before, so I would definetly continue with him, otherwise, I would choose Dark Samus.

  45. 45 S. 01/16/2010 at 12:14 AM

    MAKE SURE META RIDLEY DOESN’T SUCK AS MUCH EGGS AS HIS BOSS BATTLES VERSION

    Just thought I’d throw that in again, since it’s pretty much a given now.

  46. 46 Angelglory 01/16/2010 at 6:12 PM

    I wouldn’t mind sharing animations I’ve made for Ridley.

  47. 47 razanak7 01/16/2010 at 6:42 PM

    @Angelglory

    What animations have you done?

  48. 48 TheRandomGuy 01/16/2010 at 8:49 PM

    wow dark samus got second instead of third.

    i didnt expection such a raise of votes for her

  49. 49 Angelglory 01/17/2010 at 4:48 AM

    @razanak: Wait1, Wait2 (both based on his original Wait1&2), WalkBrake, Dash (needs some touching up), RunBrake (needs some touching up), LandingHeavy&Light (needs some touching up), Turn, TurnRun, JumpSquat, DamageFall, Squat, SquatRv, SquatWait, Pass & an Entry animation

  50. 50 Wariofan1 01/17/2010 at 6:11 AM

    Although i think the idea of Ball Kirby is awesome as heck i will have to go with Ridley. He is just the only detail this game needs and it will be perfected! Also a damn cool Dark Samus texture in the pic!

  51. 51 razanak7 01/17/2010 at 10:50 AM

    @Angelglory

    Would you mind sending the file so I can see them?

  52. 52 ocarina 02/08/2010 at 4:35 PM

    Meta Ridley or Dark Samus.


Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,464,570 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 128 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

