The shadow of a hero returns…


“I wonder… was our choice wise?”

“Nonsense, Din. We do not doubt your decision.”

“I agree with Farore. As goddesses of Hyrule, it is our duty to bring pride and prosperity to our people. This tournament of worlds is our best choice. And with Link, Zelda, and even Ganondorf participating, we are guaranteed success.”

“Perhaps so… but you saw their standings. Even Link is having difficulty maintaining his status. I am just… questioning the decision to send him in.”

“He may be an evil being, but our influence has turned him to our cause, despite certain… unwillingness.”

“It is not a question of alliance, Nayru. What if, after this is all over, he turns on us? With his turning, Ganondorf will once again be inspired to as well, and our country will  fall into further turmoil.”

“If he does… we shall banish him to the depths he crawled from.”

“That is another thing… how do we know we can? Our powers have faltered before evil in the past… how do we know it will not again? His power is growing, even as we speak. He has been learning new techniques, and mastering new abilities. These last few months have benefited him greatly… how do we know can even stand up to Dark Link now?”

After months of very frustrating work and more game crashes than you can shake a Deku Stick at, Din certainly does have something to fear… the new and improved Dark Link (formerly Dark Interloper) certainly is a force to be reckoned with, in the right hands.

This release has created a milestone of personal achievement. This is the very first complete character I have ever done; new model, new animations, new attacks, virtually everything has been changed, and it blows the ever-loving crap out of my other movesets.

And it’s a huge moveset, too. Every single attack has been changed, whether it be very slightly or something completely new. Put it this way: the moveset is so big, I had to delete most of his articles completely so the file wasn’t too big for Brawl to handle.

And remember back when I said Twilight Suit Samus was the biggest and most awesome post I will ever make? Well… Samus can suck it, ‘cuz Dark Link is ready to kick ass and drink Lon Lon milk; and he’s all out of milk.

Now, before we get to the pics, I’ll give a quick summary of him and some abilities;

– First of all, like Dark Link in OoT, his technique relies quite strongly on mind games and being able to dance circles around your opponent.

– Second, his recovery is second to none, with three jumps, a deadly up B, tether, and two other moves that can be vital to survival.

– Third, he can glide. You read that right. Well, he doesn’t really glide quite like the other characters do, but it’s very similar. You’ll see in a minute.

– Fourth, anything directly in front of him gets pushed away. This was intentional. And amusing when used on a barrel.

– Lastly, he moves very fast while carrying a Cracker Launcher or using a shooting item. This was intentional. 4 teh lulz.

PICS NAO. And there’s 46 of them, so get comfortable.

That’s not all. I’ll throw in a BRSTM of the Ocarina of Time mini boss theme (remixed by linkcrazy101), just because. It loops perfectly, too.

The download below contains Dark Link’s moveset, animations, all six textures, his Final Smash, and the aforementioned BRSTM. So, enjoy.

And of course, huge thanks to Eldiran for all his help and troubleshooting with this moveset.

Fileden: http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/11/2/2170666/Dark%20Link.zip

MediaFire: http://www.mediafire.com/?k5c0wnbendv

Alright. To conclude; like most custom characters, he’s not without a couple flaws. Here are his (known) flaws:

– He can’t use Fire Flowers in the air.

– His first grab attempt always fails. To my knowledge, this can’t be fixed.

Don’t feel like staring at pictures for ten minutes? Then just watch the video!

Okay, I think that covers it. If you have a question, go ahead and ask. Have something to report? Let me know. I thrive on your feedback, so let me know what you think.

Note that I’m not including the CSP and all that, mainly because it’s too much of a hassle to get everything put in, and the comments would be bombarded with questions on how to do it. That, and I don’t actually know where everything goes.


75 Responses to “The shadow of a hero returns…”


  1. 1 Nights Owl 03/19/2010 at 12:44 AM

    Looks like I sense epic win. -downloads-

  2. 2 Calamitas 03/19/2010 at 1:36 AM

    I smell sexyness. Especially for the final smash. I think I should release my next update soon. The included Link model will most likely fit pretty well with this.

  3. 3 Val Halen 03/19/2010 at 1:38 AM

    Man, this is essencially what Ganondorf should be in Smash Series, instead of a (still) clone of Captain Falcon… Pretty amazing! I’ll download it and see for myself!

  4. 4 fireking220 03/19/2010 at 3:34 AM

    U rlly outdo urself u know that?

  5. 5 Lexx 03/19/2010 at 4:08 AM

    Shit, forgot to comment.

    I have to say, I enjoy looking at the pictures you put up. They show a large amount of effort and dedication. I also enjoy the writing. I compare it to my own at times. ;P

    Nice work, will download when I get the chance.

  6. 6 Owned645 03/19/2010 at 4:48 AM

    On zune. Keeping sshort. Truely epic :]

  7. 7 darkredscorpio 03/19/2010 at 5:40 AM

    Razanak7 this is so cool, the textures are so cool, I like the one with the red sword and the whole moveset rocks hard.

  8. 8 Leo X 03/19/2010 at 6:42 AM

    Wow awesome.Hay I want to hack brawl and I don’t know how to put an sd card in my computer,I also want to know if it’s legal.So please tell me

  9. 9 HacknZak 03/19/2010 at 7:40 AM

    Aw man my bro’s going to love this! (DL’s)

  10. 10 squilliamthecoolest 03/19/2010 at 8:45 AM

    That is art.

  11. 11 razanak7 03/19/2010 at 8:59 AM

    @Leo X

    You need a card reader. As for legality, it’s kind of debatable. Although Nintendo lost a lawsuit in Europe, and were told they should allow for this sort of thing… but they’re still not quite on board with it. But as long as you don’t try and make a profit from it, there’s no problem.

    @Everyone else

    Thanks for the comments!

  12. 12 NikoPunkSUPEERMAARIO 03/19/2010 at 9:18 AM

    Razanak7 you keep getting smexier for every hack you make srsly

  13. 13 Segtendo 03/19/2010 at 10:24 AM

    This is the most epic hack ever. The Final Smash is sex.

  14. 14 Japan 03/19/2010 at 10:30 AM

    Well I just downloaded it and tested it out and kudos to whomever made this BUT a few things:

    Neutral B is an infinite, to win with “Dark Link” just chain his Neutral B to 999% and Fthrow, srsly he’s unbalanced.

    his Neutral B freeze the opponent in its sheild allowing a free sheild break, ban plz lol
    he needs to be a slow moving character he really has NO type of lag in his moves lol

    if you plan on keeping this character for download rename him the Demon Link lol, Dark link’s moves were based on Link’s moves set, I pictured this Dark Link to be Link but with a slight less knock back in his and more speed (kind of like a trade of speed for less power) but just including the purple effect in all of his B moves lol

    his Down B is wtfhax because of the instant K.O when the spontaineous KABOOM and is an instant SD if offstage (should be more controllable IMO), all in all just nerf him…big time lol

  15. 15 hardcorebrawlhacks 03/19/2010 at 10:50 AM

    This is EPIC, really really EPIC.

  16. 16 razanak7 03/19/2010 at 11:00 AM

    @Japan

    Why do you keep saying lol after everything?

    Anyway… for neutral B, if you fail enough to get caught in it, you’re going to die anyway, so it makes no difference if it’s an infinite or not. Plus it has almost as much startup lag as a Falcon Punch.

    And he has a LOT of lag, for almost ALL of his moves. Side tile leaves him wide open, side smash is again as long as a Falcon Punch and weaker than it too, up smash leaves him open nearly 2 seconds, which in Brawl is a long time. Down smash can be dodged just by hopping, and therefore leaves him open almost as long as the up smash.

    And why would I make it just a clone of Link? That requires absolutely no skill or time and would completely pointless since virtually no one would use it. The whole point is to make a new character.

    And in case you didn’t read, which I highly doubt you did, there’s a 1/15 chance of the WTFBOMB attack, it actually can be dodged very easily, and even countered.

    So unless you’re playing against a level 1, or someone that doesn’t move the entire match, he’s not overpowered at all.

  17. 17 calamitasx 03/19/2010 at 11:26 AM

    I just happened to try this out with the Link model I showed you the other day… it works just perfect.
    But I think this moveset needs at last one or two useful fast attacks, otherwise I would say that he is almost a little underpowered. Though he still has an incredible recovery if you combine the forward aerial, and the Up B.
    Anyway, really amazing work. Everything is just as sexy as I expected it. Safe for the Final Smash. That one is even sexier.

  18. 18 razanak7 03/19/2010 at 11:41 AM

    @calamitasx

    Whether or not he’s underpowered is pretty debatable. He’s very versatile, so the way you use him makes a big difference, like favouring certain attacks and whatnot.

    Regarding the model, I thought about using an edited one, but I think it would be better leave it as normal Link’s.

    Although, I would like to see it.

  19. 19 calamitasx 03/19/2010 at 11:57 AM

    @razanak7

    Well, I for my part think that he has some quite unignorable problems. For example, as great as his recobery can be, he is pretty much screwed if he gets knocked of the stage and isn’t facing it. Both his Up B and his forward aerial would only kill him in such a situation.

    And for the model, just wait a few more minutes. I am actually going to include a few pictures this moveset with him in the next update.

  20. 20 Japan 03/19/2010 at 12:33 PM

    razanak7
    03/19/2010 at 11:00 AM
    @Japan

    Why do you keep saying lol after everything?

    does it matter why i say “lol”

    thats not the issue here, Dark link (IMO) is a tad over powered, even if the Neutral B is slow as crap it freeze characters sometimes WITHOUT even touching them, I did a Neutral B from WAAY across FD just to freeze the Animations (i.e, dust clouds, dash clouds) and it froze Charizard just when he was jumping and it sent Charizard up past the Blast line WHILE he was imobile…So…yea 😛

  21. 21 razanak7 03/19/2010 at 1:27 PM

    @calamitasx

    Well, you could just turn the up B around.

    @Japan

    That’s because it makes them keep their momentum. Charizard jumped when you used it, so he kept going. And even if he went past the blast line, he won’t die unless he gets hit while up there like normal.

  22. 22 S. 03/19/2010 at 1:28 PM

    Lol, the alternate costumes could use a LITTLE bit more customization… like… I dunno, slightly tinted eyes to match his teams? And more darker shades to the actual costumes themselves (making sleeves darker than, say, his hand equipment and whatnot), not just all a similar palette.

    Still, looks nice.

  23. 23 roo525 03/19/2010 at 3:09 PM

    Hey Ranzak, I’d be more than happy to make you a machinima style video for Dark link, like I did with deoxys. This guys just too awesome!

  24. 24 razanak7 03/19/2010 at 3:27 PM

    @roo525

    Too late, I already made one. I just forgot to link it.

    BTW, it’s Razanak. 😛

  25. 25 roo525 03/19/2010 at 3:35 PM

    Oops, Lol, sorry.

  26. 26 Oni Kage 03/19/2010 at 3:53 PM

    WOOOW. I have to say, this very much rivals the zero psa. But, that’s what the clone engine’s for. Very nice job Razanak, though the alt costumes could use a bit more alteration… I have a Dark Fierce Deity Link texture that I made that is DEFINITELY going to be used here.

  27. 27 Manasword 03/19/2010 at 3:59 PM

    Now this is awesome, more than awesome.

    Is there a way you could get him to replace another character? I heard it was possible, but I’m not exactly sure.

  28. 28 razanak7 03/19/2010 at 4:09 PM

    @Manasword

    It is, but only if the new character doesn’t go over the old character’s limit, which this guy probably does.

  29. 29 Tacoguy 03/19/2010 at 4:55 PM

    The psa is awesome, but I was wondering if you could release a version where Link only gets two jumps instead of three. He seems a little overpowered in terms of recovery.

  30. 30 Yoshi6852 03/19/2010 at 5:00 PM

    Nice, it looks a bit broken (mainly his recovery), but I could care less the broken moveset is much more fun 😀

  31. 31 Devin 03/19/2010 at 5:13 PM

    Cool. Gives me a reason to play Link!

    (Dark Samus nao?)

  32. 32 DarkSamus12 03/19/2010 at 5:38 PM

    Yes darksamus moveset with your creative ideas razanak you could make an awesome darksamus moveset like your dark link one please make darksamus moveset

  33. 33 thanyou 03/19/2010 at 5:40 PM

    You have out done yourself yet again. Great job on this raz, I may have found a replacement for zero :0

  34. 34 CalamitasX 03/19/2010 at 5:45 PM

    After several dozen of matches, I can now say that this guy is FUN to play.
    And even though he is rather broken, he is still more balanced than Kitty Corp.’s Cloud.

  35. 35 manwhobrawls 03/19/2010 at 6:30 PM

    the final smash was holy shit!!!

  36. 36 Failmaster 03/19/2010 at 6:31 PM

    I MIGHT be a little picky but.. can i use his sword 😛

  37. 37 Thunder Ztar 03/19/2010 at 6:38 PM

    Well.. that means that i will do all the csp´s and the name

  38. 38 razanak7 03/19/2010 at 7:14 PM

    @Tacoguy

    You can reduce his jumps in PSA, it’s under Attributes; the offset is 0x060, right above Gravity.

    @Yoshi6852

    His recovery is pretty overpowered, but that’s mainly because he’s a bit underpowered, and pretty light weight.

    @Devin, DarkSamus12

    I’m already planning to make Dark Samus. And since she already has some moves in Metroid Prime, it should make things easier.

    @Failmaster

    As in use it for one of your textures? If so, then yes, as long as you give me some credit.

  39. 39 Leo X 03/19/2010 at 7:36 PM

    Cool.Thanks razanak7 for the help(sorry for the late reply) your my hero.

  40. 40 TheLeanMachine 03/19/2010 at 7:37 PM

    YI LIKE TACOOOOSSSSSS

  41. 41 thedalvin2 03/19/2010 at 8:22 PM

    I know this took you alot of time! nice psa hack

  42. 42 Toupe454 03/19/2010 at 9:49 PM

    2 Questions.
    1. Can I set the moveset to just one of Links Costumes
    2.Where do I put FitLink.pac, FitLinkFinal.pac and FitLinkMotion.pac

  43. 43 Segtendo 03/19/2010 at 9:54 PM

    @ Toupe454
    1. Not possible
    2. in fighter\link

  44. 44 Lord Prosper 03/19/2010 at 10:50 PM

    Holy crap. My brain exploded because it couldn’t handle how badass this is.

  45. 45 Nuke 03/20/2010 at 10:57 AM

    Aweome!I need the csp though.If uour not,I’ll make it myself but…..

  46. 46 Jack H. 03/20/2010 at 11:17 AM

    … Holy crap! That final Smash is PIMP!

  47. 47 The Right Honorable Judge Wallace P. Grindstump 03/20/2010 at 5:06 PM

    I meant to comment on this yesterday but got distracted. I like how you made recolors of him, It kind of makes him a new character.

    “Samus can suck It”, I agree. 😉

  48. 48 calamitasx 03/20/2010 at 7:08 PM

    (Back on the comment of Manasword/Razanak’s reply to it…)

    Wait… when Dark Link’s file size goes over that of other characters, why don’t you put Link over another character? Like for example, Snake? I mean, he has anough objects that he uses and that can be replaced with Link’s stuff, right?

  49. 49 Mythinu 03/20/2010 at 7:52 PM

    OH MY GOD. i wish i could have a dark link versus link battle with this moveset for dark link. but i can see how that can be a problem

  50. 50 razanak7 03/20/2010 at 10:41 PM

    @calamitasx

    If the file size goes over the other character’s limit is when it doesn’t work. I haven’t tried/checked any other characters, so I don’t know if it works or not.

  51. 51 perfectedidiot2 03/21/2010 at 12:29 AM

    Well now I feel stupid for making a link PSA……………dwarfs mine by a long shot.

  52. 52 Devin 03/21/2010 at 7:11 PM

    After some extensive playtime with Dark Link, I can safely say that he is full of fucking win, even if his Final Smash is Super Sonic broken. Great job on this, it really shows how much effort you put into it!

  53. 53 M_S 03/22/2010 at 3:02 PM

    Holy shit, this is amazing! Words cannot express the awe I’m experiencing. How cool is this? The sword attacks look so badass, in the vein of Blade Master Alastor’s style. Maybe incorporate that animation into his third jab?
    I’m loving that final smash!

    Calling his recovery overpowered is a serious understatement. Drop the third jump, decrease his Up B’s height, and I’d call it good.

  54. 54 _Data_Drain_ 03/27/2010 at 4:58 AM

    Wow …I just now saw the video… That final smash is wicked, definitely gonna try this at some point. 🙂

  55. 55 _Data_Drain_ 03/28/2010 at 4:30 AM

    Hm… I tested him for awhile…
    His side smash seems a little too slow, I know there’s another part of it that freezes the opponent, but it’s still too slow, and doesn’t have much knock back, heck his side tilt has more knock back.

    His jab is easy to DI out of.

    Is there more to his up smash? It seems hard to land, and is kinda weak.

    I like the down smash, it’s a little punishable, but it makes a interesting dodge sometimes.

    The forward air is neat.

    Should his down B really be able to kill himself sometimes?

    Well, that’s all I have to say, it’s a very interesting PSA, you did a good job, definitely hard to use though…

  56. 56 razanak7 03/28/2010 at 10:27 AM

    @_Data_Drain_

    The idea for the smashes is that they are slow, but do high damage, while the tilts are weaker, but with more knockback.

    Most jabs are easy to DI out of, so that’s not an issue.

    Up smash is hard to land, but like the other smashes, it’s very powerful.

    Down smash is indeed punishable, but it’s quite effect as a dodge, like you said, and packs a huge punch.

    Down B doesn’t kill him. It just puts him on the respawn platform for brief invincibility. He does drop any Dragoon pieces he’s holding, though.

    As a whole, part of his style was to be difficult to get the hang of, but if you can get a hold on all of his techniques, he’s very powerful, even if he’s a lightweight.

  57. 57 _Data_Drain_ 03/28/2010 at 11:08 PM

    Oh okay, the first time that happened, I thought he killed himself… And I didn’t use the move again… And it was training mode by the way. 😄

    Oh and thanks for replying, yeah he’s very difficult to get the hang of, though I would like to try to get better with him. ^_^

  58. 58 _Data_Drain_ 03/31/2010 at 9:45 AM

    Yeah, the more I use this moveset, the more I like it, he’s supposed to be a cautious character right? not supposed to get kills fast and stuff?

  59. 59 razanak7 03/31/2010 at 2:35 PM

    @_Data_Drain_

    Exactly. I kept his appearances in Zelda 2 and OoT in mind; since both fights against him required outwitting him and keeping track of his movements, I tried to translate that into this moveset to make him into an agile and complicated character.

  60. 60 Toupe454 04/05/2010 at 10:02 PM

    Me find glitch :D. Use his down B over water and you’ll get brief invisability while being able to move

  61. 61 razanak7 04/06/2010 at 2:35 PM

    @Toupe454

    Interesting. That’s a quick fix, so that will be changed for version 2.

  62. 62 Xyno76 05/16/2010 at 7:43 PM

    O_O this is the best hack i’ve ever seen! (and i finally ogt it to work on brawl) i luv this!!! this is exactly what dark link would look like and his moveset is the best!

  63. 63 Teh Noob 15 07/02/2010 at 2:32 AM

    Way I see it, among the ways to make this hack better is a Toon Link version. But that’s probably not happening. 😛

  64. 64 Linkcrazy101 07/06/2010 at 12:21 AM

    Coolio site! Dark Link = epicness! Thanks for using my work!

  65. 65 jamesasian 08/03/2010 at 12:49 AM

    Hey I am new to all this hacking brawl stuff and I thought this dark link thing is the coolest thing ever but could you explain how to get it on brawl? I know you need an sd card and I got one, but thats it. Thanks!

  66. 66 Zyon 08/20/2010 at 3:50 PM

    Amazing Work!
    True Dark Link O_O

  67. 67 john5baldwin 09/11/2010 at 3:54 AM

    If you have a problem with your PC just visit this SITE ,It’s a Tutorial how to clean up your PC and a new software development to Prevents Computer Crashes and Speeds Up Slow PC And is all FREE !!It will fix your problem and saving Time

  68. 68 Legacyblade 10/08/2010 at 2:25 AM

    Alright, I know this is kind of a necropost but I just found this today. Me and my friends have tested him extensively (we have a good range of skill levels, so until some of my friends get better we’re a great beta-testing group). He’s a heck of a lot more balanced than the Cloud you can get on Das Donkey (even though he’s easy enough to beat when you know how), though a few of his moves feel a bit overpowered. But that makes him like most characters in brawl.

    I have two issues with the character, both regarding his down-b

    1. The cooldown time after the down-b really needs to be a bit longer. One of my friends was spamming it and HOLY CRAP I got good at dodging and grabbing in the split second he appeared. I think somewhere around half a second would be best.
    2. The slight chance to WTFBoom the enemy really gets annoying in an epic four player battle. Due the the spam-ability of the move, if the players are distracted the dark link can sit there almost indefinably pressing down+b. And on a small stage, people are going to get hit by it very often. I do like the concept, but I don’t think it should be an instant K.O. (adding a cooldown time might resolve this issue)

    I’m pretty sure I can modify the PSA to see how he plays with these mods, so I’ll report back after some more testing. And again, thank you so much for releasing this. We were getting bored of Zero. The character is full of win and creative. I’m loving playing as him, and he’s officially the coolest mod-character out there.

    P.S. The sandbag on the online training room + two dark links = instant lols.

  69. 69 Legacyblade 10/08/2010 at 4:54 AM

    I’ve been meandering around the PSD file with little luck. Could you tell me where in the file I’d need to go to edit the cooldown time after the down-B and to modify/remove the WTFBoom portion of it? I’d really like to tweak that one, but PSA’s are hard to navigate.

  70. 70 Legacyblade 10/08/2010 at 4:59 AM

    (it missed my earlier comments where I was critiquing the PSA and gushing about it’s awesomeness. To summarize the post that went before the above…)

    ZOMG: this = full of win.

    This is more balanced than Cloud, but has a couple issues with the down-B.

    1. It’s SUPER spam-able. One of my player’s was mashing down-b and there’s a very NARROW window during which he can get hurt. I’d like to increase the cooldown period after the down-B
    2. The WTFBoom bit is rather overpowered. In an intense match between four players with one guy spamming down-B results in frequent instant-KO hits on people. I think this should either be removed, or nurfed a bit (so it’s about on-par with a 9 from game and watch’s hammer)

    P.S. Sandbag + 2 dark links = lols

    (I sounded literate in my first post I swear 😛 My comp just wigged out and for some reason it didn’t appear.)

  71. 71 ShadowX 05/07/2014 at 12:17 AM

    Very awesome moveset. Best one I’ve ever seen for Dark Link.
    This may seem like a stupid question, but does this hack work with Project M 3.02? I’ve just started using PM and don’t know very much about it. Thanks.

  72. 72 Timmy Kansky 05/18/2014 at 2:43 AM

    I want to to thank you for this excellent read!! I certainly loved every little bit of it. I have you book-marked to look at new stuff you post|

  73. 73 free kill shot cheat 11/27/2014 at 9:32 AM

    Thanks for sharing this with us. I’ve downloaded the tool but i get infested with
    virus.
    Than i look again and I found a more good hack on http://com-freehacks.com
    Have a look they have a free download link too. Just lead
    you two know maybe you can post that hack.

  74. 74 n/a/ 12/17/2014 at 10:13 PM

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I seriously
    enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark
    your blog and definitely will come back down the road.
    I want to encourage you continue your great writing,
    have a nice morning!


  1. 1 Top Posts — WordPress.com Trackback on 03/19/2010 at 8:17 PM

Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,462,113 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

