New Super Mario Bros. Wii has just EXPANDED.


Hey guys, Lexx here, bringing you some awesome news.
I just found out how to make my own custom levels on NSMBW, and a lot like ROM hacking, they can be as creative and inventive as you’d like. The only problem is I suck at the program, so I’m going to show you the failure that I’ve been working on all day.

Now, the blocks were supposed to disappear, but I suck.

REVISED TEST LEVEL DOWNLOAD LINK (No video, or it’d be too easy)

ANYWAY, if you’d like to learn how to do this, here’s the guide.

I can help with any questions you may have, so feel free to ask or even tell me how to fix my crappy level.

Cheers!

Also, big thanks to Yoshiller2 from YouTube for helping me get started. Check out his YouTube channel, he’s a lot better with this program than I am.


34 Responses to “New Super Mario Bros. Wii has just EXPANDED.”


  1. 1 Lexx 04/13/2010 at 11:04 PM

    inb4bitching about stuff unrelated to Br0wl.

  2. 2 Lexx 04/13/2010 at 11:07 PM

    Also, I realize of course that you could easily complete my level just by breaking the blocks. AGAIN, it was a test level.

  3. 3 flaminshrooms 04/13/2010 at 11:17 PM

    Looks like Yoshiller is pretty good at this. Glad to see it being used well, and I can’t wait for the first full hack.
    And, uh, I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it eventually, Lexx…

  4. 4 eddie 04/13/2010 at 11:40 PM

    wow… so the extra levels MUST replace the in game levels…? ’cause I havent finished the game yet if thats the case, i should probably wait untill I do…

  5. 5 Lexx 04/14/2010 at 12:22 AM

    Not permanently. It’s like having a file replacement code on SSBB.. You can easily just swap out what you want and don’t want from your SD card.

  6. 6 Lexx 04/14/2010 at 12:30 AM

    Also, yeah, I know, I suck.. But my test level is finally done, and it’s pretty tricky. (Compared to Nintendo’s levels, at least.)

    Download link:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?fyyxjzn4jyn

  7. 7 Jack H. 04/14/2010 at 12:49 AM

    Hey, nice. Team name change in the near future? Textures already hackable here I suppose?

  8. 8 shadowsquid86 04/14/2010 at 12:58 AM

    Elite People Who Do Awesome Things

    EPWDAT

  9. 9 JetAurion 04/14/2010 at 1:15 AM

    MUST GET GAME.
    MUST MAKE LEVELS.
    To me, a great game is one you could replay because of customizable content., even if it’s not endorsed by the original makers.

  10. 10 Jose Gallardo 04/14/2010 at 3:42 AM

    Just a tiny bit of old news, but its great to see people having fun making their own levels. I’m always (or usually) up to date with these things. I do not mean to advertise here (no need to), but if someone is having trouble keeping up with the scene, head over to NintendoBros.com – I already have custom NSMBWii textures and levels. Never liked to work on one thing, so I tend to hack anything worth hacking, hence why NB was never only about Brawl, but of anything Nintendo Hack Related [I need to bring back that sub-statement]

    @Jack H.

    Textures have been customizable since before 2010, I think. You may have to bring up my Blog more often =)

    My youtube channel is also a good source for things N-hackable.

  11. 11 Lexx 04/14/2010 at 9:35 AM

    I knew Jose would comment here.. Mostly because it’s pretty old, and the newest version has been out for about.. two weeks now? Oh well, I haven’t seen many people using it, so I thought I could expand the number of people using the program.

    Either way, I saw your textures, Jose. I just have no idea how to use them. XD

    Also, Jet, me and BSZ were discussing re-playability earlier. I thought that NSMBW was more replayable because of this program, while he thought WarioWare was more replayable because you can make your own games. Now, WarioWare may have that in it, but what’s the use of playing little five-second mini-games when you can play a series of levels designed by the most evil of ROM hackers switching over to NSMBW? So, basically, my argument as that you’d get bored of WarioWare faster.

  12. 12 Jose Gallardo 04/14/2010 at 9:47 AM

    I recently sold my DSi, so that ends my side of the discussion.

    As for the textures, you can use Wiiscrubber or Riivolution. Riivolution is basically WiiScrubber on the fly, replacing files in real-time, much like the Brawl File Patch code, but works or should work with every Wii game.

  13. 13 Jose Gallardo 04/14/2010 at 9:49 AM

    Trying to post comment again, as first Submit did not go through.

    I recently sold my DSi, so that ends my side of the discussion.

    As for the textures, you can use Wiiscrubber or Riivolution. Riivolution is basically WiiScrubber on the fly, replacing files in real-time, much like the Brawl File Patch code, but works or should work with every Wii game.

  14. 14 secretchaos1 04/14/2010 at 12:49 PM

    The NSMB hacking scene is reminding me a lot of the SMW one. Reggie is even similar to Lunar Magic, so it’s really simple to use =3 Can’t wait til more people start making full hacks though and not just individual stages.

  15. 15 yoshi682 04/14/2010 at 5:14 PM

    So wait, the levels can be loaded by SD card, but not the textures, but you can use another program to load the textures/ stages?

  16. 16 The Right Honorable Judge Wallace P. Grindstump 04/14/2010 at 5:54 PM

    This really isn’t the best place to ask this, But is there a way I can play New Super Mario Bros. Wii without updating the Wii system menu? I’d like to use some of these.

  17. 17 Lexx 04/14/2010 at 6:06 PM

    Yoshi, wish I could answer you, but I’m still clueless as to loading textures using Riivolution.

    And PAVGN, just use Gecko OS or Riivolution. Either one of those can load the game, although Riivolution can load the custom stages.

    Also, SecretChaos, I think I’m gonna make a full hack once I get the hang of the program.

  18. 18 The Right Honorable Judge Wallace P. Grindstump 04/14/2010 at 6:09 PM

    @Lexx

    I know I could use ether of those programs, But I want to be able to play the game from the normal system menu without having to update my Wii.

  19. 19 Lexx 04/14/2010 at 6:18 PM

    Hrmmm… I know my friend went to the disc channel and clicked the update for TvC and nothing happened to his system menu, and he uses Homebrew. I thought he was retarded.. Aparently not.

    And YES, I watched him do it. :3

  20. 20 The Right Honorable Judge Wallace P. Grindstump 04/14/2010 at 6:22 PM

    @Lexx

    Hmm…Still, I’d rather not update to 4.2 as I heard It can cause some Homebrew apps to not run properly, If at all.

  21. 21 Lexx 04/14/2010 at 6:26 PM

    Well, I’m out of options then.

  22. 22 Mario & Sonic Guy 04/14/2010 at 7:50 PM

    Looks interesting, and decided to try it out myself. Fortunately, I’m not so mean with my work (the guy who did the Kaizo Mario World sure had brutal ways to make you flip out).

  23. 23 Mario & Sonic Guy 04/14/2010 at 10:04 PM

    Took me awhile, but I did get my first custom level to work the way that I wanted it to work.

    The level does show some tricky situations, and there are only two powerups; one at the start, while the other is at the checkpoint. Also, beware of King Bills, especially since you have no warning about their appearances here.

    Download: http://www.mediafire.com/?ghmj1gwumhi

  24. 24 ShadowSnake 04/15/2010 at 4:20 PM

    This isnt brawl related but who gives a fuck, its awesome and is the biggest step ive seen in NSMBW hax.

  25. 25 Lexx 04/15/2010 at 4:57 PM

    I’ll try yours in a bit, M&SG.

  26. 26 Mario & Sonic Guy 04/15/2010 at 8:30 PM

    @Lexx

    Unfortunately, I ended up removing the download link for my first custom level. I would reupload it, but no one ever seems to talk about these hacks on the forums. And sorry, but I have no way to show how my custom level works.

    By the way, I did up two more custom levels today, with one of them being for Bowser’s Castle. I made it longer, and a bit tougher, but it’s nowhere near as insane as the Kaizo Mario World hacks; for one instance, you’ll never get those killer invisible blocks from me.

  27. 27 Lexx 04/15/2010 at 9:10 PM

  28. 28 shinyoctopus68 04/15/2010 at 11:44 PM

    Sound is fucked up.

  29. 29 Mario & Sonic Guy 04/16/2010 at 8:57 AM

    Hey Lexx, have you ever considered hosting your custom levels at the RVLution website? I became a member there to show my custom levels.

    http://rvlution.net/nsmbw/index.php

    Also, you mentioned about trying out my first custom level. Go to the link below to see it (and download it).

    http://rvlution.net/nsmbw/index.php?showitem=270

  30. 30 Eggboy13 04/17/2010 at 12:43 PM

    I DEMAND A SUPER MARIO WORLD CONVERSION

  31. 31 WhoWantsToKnow? 04/20/2010 at 8:19 PM

    Yo, total noob! So….I’ve made stages with Reggie but where do I put them on my SD card, and how do I load them through the Wii…With Gecko or….I don’t know someone help me out!

  32. 32 darkly77 07/28/2010 at 8:35 AM

    Since Jose’s plugged his site, I’ll plug mine. We’ve got loads of texture mods on my site, mario-mods.com. Latest releases include Pokemon Trainer, Giga Bowser, Brawl Mario and Sonic. My favourite is Brawl Wario, who can turn into Wario Man!!

    We’ve got loads of guides and tools too, for making your own stuff or editing anything released on the site, and support 4.2, 4.3 and ISO loader users. We’ve also released a mod pack that lets you toggle between custom textures, files or levels, so you can store multiple different textures on one SD card and switch between them at will. all you do is extract it to your SD card 🙂

    We’re also open to new ideas and contributors. The team’s 3-men strong at the moment, but hopes to grow and branch out to other Mario games.

  33. 33 Yina 08/25/2010 at 3:58 AM

    This game is action game.Now Mario and Luigi are back in an all-new platformer for Nintendo DS. Boasting incredible 3D graphics to accompany classic 2D gameplay, this fast-paced adventure will have Mario fans cheering.Great games have great sales and New Super Mario Bros is such a game!
    It is really amazing!And in this game,New Active Dimension Battle system transfers players from exploration to battle seamlessly!
    I like this game so much!

  34. 34 süper mario 10/01/2010 at 3:23 PM

    As for the textures, you can use Wiiscrubber or Riivolution. Riivolution is basically WiiScrubber on the fly, replacing files in real-time, much like the Brawl File Patch code, but works or should work with every Wii game


Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,464,231 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 128 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

