Let’s get back to hacks, k?


Sooo… since I have this rather annoying habbit to make several version of one and the same stage hack, I might as well release these two now. I made two new version for Hyrule Castle.


These two have snowfall and rain. The one with the snow is simply an update of the Winter Version, but the Rain Version is completly new, and supposed to be like the first part of the Hyrule Castle Dungeon from Twilight Princess.
Big credits to Mewtwo2000 for helping me with importing both weather effects. The rain one would’ve been impossible for me without him.
And by the way, this is the last time I make an alternate version of this Castle, I promise. :3

And by the way, once I figure out how to do those, I’ll also upload a Hyrule Castle .brstm file for this.

Download at BrawlVault:


16 Responses to “Let’s get back to hacks, k?”


  1. 1 BeyondYou 06/05/2010 at 5:47 PM

    YAY. Mah boi Calamitas!

    Great stuff. Great stuff.

  2. 2 shadowsquid86 06/05/2010 at 5:55 PM

    Aw, I was just about to post. :C

    I guess I’ll wait until later to make a post. But it’s already in the Vault, so early birds can catch a sneak peak and download before then.

  3. 3 xithma 06/05/2010 at 6:00 PM

    the snow one looks amazing

  4. 4 razanak7 06/05/2010 at 6:28 PM

    More Zelda stuff is always nice. :3

    And I can show you how to make BRSTMs over MSN. But you need to help me with a stage I’m making. 😄

  5. 5 Mewtwo2000 06/05/2010 at 6:43 PM

    Making brstms is way easier than making stages xD

    Brawlbox makes it extremely easy, you just need your song in wav format, and making the loop is the easiest in the world xD

  6. 6 The Right Honorable Judge Wallace P. Grindstump 06/05/2010 at 7:48 PM

    @Mewtwo2000

    Are you crazy? There’s a lot of songs I want to put in BRSTM format but because setting up a loop point is too hard for those songs I haven’t made them yet. Unless you have a way of making songs loop that is easy. If you do, Would you like to share It with me? Also I could use your help with a stage I’m making. Nice stage Calamitas.

  7. 7 JC-Gamer 06/05/2010 at 9:06 PM

    I sort of agree and disagree with Mewtwo2000. Making BRSTMs is way easier than making stages IF you have a good musical ear and are good at making sense of notes. For it to be really easy and for them to sound good you have to be a good musician just like to make good stages easily you have to be a good artist.

    I also agree with PAVGN sort of. Some songs are very tough to make good loop points for. In those cases sometimes the best thing to do is to have the song fade out and then just restart but that’ll sometimes sound lame. When there’s a key change in a song it makes it especially difficult and that’s where you need to screw around with the song more by reversing scales that lead to the key change and stuff like that.

  8. 8 owned645 06/05/2010 at 9:06 PM

    I was too about to post. I guess I’ll release a bit later. Luckily no sneak preview this time.

    And I never really cared for this stage. And so far no hack has made it any better to me. Not that this is bad.

  9. 9 william 06/05/2010 at 10:07 PM

    I think the sky is stil to bright for the scene.

  10. 10 Jack H. 06/06/2010 at 3:39 AM

    Hey, the stages are great – I’ll be snagg’n a copy from the Vault. Keep up the great originality Calamitas.

  11. 11 flaminbrooms 06/06/2010 at 4:00 AM

    Love you Calamitas but could we pwease have stuff that isn’t “omg weather”

  12. 12 Miacis 06/06/2010 at 6:56 AM

    @ JC-Gamer : You don’t necesarily have to be a good musician. I’m not, but I can still find very good loop points.
    Being very careful and listening to the tune several times to find a good point to loop can quite easily make up for the lack of musical ear.

    It just takes a little more time.

    … That just made me want to do some more BRSTMs. ❤

  13. 13 Mewtwo2000 06/06/2010 at 8:03 AM

    Well, if a song has some point similar enough to another one in the song, the process is only listening, and press the button when you hear that repeated part of the song… Of course, if a song has not a similar point, it’s hard to loop. But the loop/making brstm process is easy itself.

    If you can’t hear the similar point but you know it exists, you can preview the file with audacity and find in the graphic where the song has the same/similar form.

    And you can even edit that original file by adding/cutting parts to make the song easier to loop.

    I looped songs with some bat file it existed some time ago in a page called elotrolado.net, it used the original compressing/decompressing programs for brstm files, and I was needing to calculate the sample numbers, test, and repeat if it wasn’t working as expected. This was lots more difficult/time consuming than brawlbox. Same with Androu’s tool I suppose (never used his).

    Having brawlbox, the process of making brstms is really easy if the song is not impossible to loop ^^U

    Anyway, I suppose JC-Gamer is right, it can be not as easy if you have not a good musica ear ^^U

  14. 14 Mewtwo2000 06/06/2010 at 8:05 AM

    …musical* xDDDD

  15. 15 Miacis 06/06/2010 at 9:06 AM

    Mewtwo2000 : It was really easy with Androu’s tool. It didn’t take more than 2 minutes to make a fully-functional track if you had already found the position of the loop point in Audacity. 😉

    Actually, I’m still using it. Since i’ve never tried to see how it works in BB for music tracks. 😛

  16. 16 Mewtwo2000 06/06/2010 at 9:43 AM

    If I calculated a perfect position loop, the one I used was a 2 minutes tool to. And I was still using it until not much ago. Until I tried brawlbox.

    With BB, you don’t even need to find the loop point with audacity, you can test and fail really fast. I know using audacity is more accurate for loops, but I think test and fail is fun xD


Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,462,155 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

