“OMG WUT IS DIS CRAP”


“SUCKY WIIMOTION CONTROL??? CEL SHADING??? U RUINED ZELDA 4EVER!!!”

Above you see the kind of reaction towards “The Legend Of Zelda: Skyward Sword” that I have already seen quite often, and which severly disappoints me. So, you might already be able to tell that my opinion about the game is pretty much the polar opposite.
So… and even though there already two other versions of this texture out (thanks for ninjaing me, BSZ and LinkofAuburn! >_>), I will still release this one. Link in his new design from Skyward Sword.

I didn’t make him entirely cel shaded, so that he fits in better with Brawl’s normal style.

Anyway, download at BrawlVault.


40 Responses to ““OMG WUT IS DIS CRAP””


  1. 1 shadowsquid86 06/16/2010 at 1:59 PM

    They’ll still buy it. If Nintendo made “Zelda Party Racing: Link and Friends”, they”d buy it. Because it will be Miyamoto, and it will be good regardless.

    (This is the best version of the texture IMO. Though I think the pants need to be baggier and darker.)

  2. 2 calamitasx 06/16/2010 at 2:20 PM

    This doesn’t really have any model edits…
    But yeah, I probably should still change those pants.

  3. 3 BigSharkZ 06/16/2010 at 2:24 PM

    Interesting, but the pants should be more “orange” and the face should be “happy-like”. By that I mean change the eyebrows. =)

  4. 4 OizenX 06/16/2010 at 2:54 PM

    You would of got more downloads if you called it Melee link 😛

  5. 5 Roo 06/16/2010 at 3:01 PM

    Thank GOD Lexx isn’t here. She’d have us all decapetated. >_>

  6. 6 Devin 06/16/2010 at 3:54 PM

    You should blame me for BSZ ninja-ing you, as I requested this. 😛

  7. 7 cyberdark 06/16/2010 at 3:57 PM

    cool man

  8. 8 calamitasx 06/16/2010 at 4:11 PM

    @Devin:
    Nah, I prefer blaming the people who actually did the hacks.

  9. 9 KAITOFORTE 06/16/2010 at 4:19 PM

    why does everyone say that the new zelda is gonna suck i mean it looks awesome. the only reason it looked like it was gonna suck was cause myamoto was having trouble with the wirless connections.
    anyway nice texture.

  10. 10 BigSharkZ 06/16/2010 at 4:39 PM

    @Devin

    Actually, I had the idea before you requested it.

    Also, to people who are whining that the controls “failed”, that’s because the Wii Motion Plus uses infrared waves, and where they showed it, a lot of people had cell phones, cameras, and so on, so that’s why it did not work perfectly. Unless you play in area with 500 people walking around with electronics, then you’re fine.

  11. 11 Devin 06/16/2010 at 4:52 PM

    @BSZ Fair enough. I suppose there was no point in requesting, seeing as there are now three of these.

    The lack of cel shading on this one disappoints me. Say what you will, but I effing LOVE cel shading. However, I do love the colouring. It’s the exact opposite of the one LinkofAuburn made!

  12. 12 fireking220 06/16/2010 at 4:56 PM

    yep many people dont know about infrared pollution.

    many of the people who dont like skyward sword probably didnt like wind waker either. Different people have different taste in graphics. Like Kirby: Epic yarn I found very unique in its style. It brought something new to the playing field.

  13. 13 calamitasx 06/16/2010 at 5:01 PM

    @Devin:
    I just somehow didn’t think that cel shading would fit for this as Brawl texture… I just don’t know. But I am still rather fond of the colors in this result myself.

    @fireking:
    From what I’ve seen, there are also people who liked Wind Waker, but still dislike this one. So, the ones who like Wind Waker don’t like this one for not looking as “beautiful” as Wind Waker, and the ones that liked Twilight Princess don’t like Skyward Sword for not looking realistic enough.
    Or, in short: Fan dumb.

  14. 14 hero1771 06/16/2010 at 5:29 PM

    just wait for a hacker forum about the new LoZ game pop up, ppl will be texture hacking the game like crazy. then we’ll have twilight princess all over again.

  15. 15 darkredscorpio 06/16/2010 at 6:23 PM

    nice texture for link but what is skyward sword anyways.

  16. 16 BigSharkZ 06/16/2010 at 6:31 PM

    @darkredscorpio

    *Slaps him*

    MAN, STOP LIVING UNDER THAT ROCK!

  17. 17 BigSharkZ 06/16/2010 at 6:32 PM

    In all seriousness, it’s the new Zelda game for Wii, which looks like Twilight Princess with nice looking cel-shaded graphics. E3 rocked this year, with Donkey Kong Country Returns, Kid Icarus: Uprising, Ocarina of Time 3DS remake, Star Fox 64 3DS Remake , Kirby’s Epic Yarn, and other cool titles.

  18. 18 Devin 06/16/2010 at 6:44 PM

    @BSZ

    Hell, Paper Mario alone is enough to make me hyped for the 3DS. Freaking LOVE that series.

  19. 19 The Right Honorable Judge Wallace P. Grindstump 06/16/2010 at 6:44 PM

    I have to agree with shadowsquid86 and say that I think this is the best one out of the three.

  20. 20 STUFF2o 06/16/2010 at 6:53 PM

    My only gripe is his hair. It’s a lot more blonde in Skyward Sword. Other than that, it’s good. Too bad we can’t put real cel-shading in Brawl textures.

  21. 21 Anh-T. 06/16/2010 at 7:08 PM

    That texture is cool as the Nintendo E3 conference.

  22. 22 _Data_Drain_ 06/16/2010 at 7:24 PM

    Hm… I definitely think yours is the best, it’s not 100% cel-shaded.
    I like that, once again, nice job Cal. ^_^

  23. 23 darkredscorpio 06/16/2010 at 8:19 PM

    thanks for telling me that bigsharkz.

  24. 24 StealthyAqua 06/16/2010 at 9:59 PM

    If anyone cared to watch the videos on Nintendo’s website about Skyward Sword the motion is 1:1 this time around! That’s enough to make me buy it.

  25. 25 shadowsquid86 06/16/2010 at 10:10 PM

    What people don’t understand is the meaning of cel-shading.

    It’s just that, the shading. The texture it’s self is basic, like what most people considered as “cel-shaded”, but to truly be cel-shaded, it needs the proper shader and lighting. So therefore, unless basic graphics of the entire game are changed, flat textures are NOT cel-shaded, but merely bland and lazy.

    Now, you can try to emulate the cel-shading by actually applying shade to the texture, but it won’t be the same.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cel-shaded_animation

  26. 26 JediKnightTemplar 06/16/2010 at 10:44 PM

    @BSZ, yeah, Nintendo really shattered my expectations for them this year. Microsoft let me down; I see no hardcore gaming applications for Kinect and their conference proved it, though MGS Rising is looking sweet. Sony pretty much was right at what I expected. The Valve announcement excited me especially Steam coming to PS3, but other than that, not much got me incredibly excited over never-before-seen things (Sly Cooper being rereleased intrigues me though, as does Sorceror). Overall, I think Nintendo “won” E3

  27. 27 Chicken Chaser 06/17/2010 at 7:09 AM

    It should be mandatory to read shadowsquid86’s comment before calling a texture cel-shaded.

    I would’ve preferred Skyward Sword if it had either full Wind Waker or full Twilight Princess graphics, I don’t like this hybrid. Wind Waker is my favourite style though.

  28. 28 Jack H. 06/17/2010 at 10:59 AM

    Are you kidding me Chicken? They’ve taken the two best elements of each game, and put it into one.

    Sue me. The Wind Waker Link sucked ass, and the Fact that I had to become a wolf in TP reminded me of having to be fat-ass ugly Sonic in the Weresonic game. Clearly, Adult link pwns, and the gameplay of Wind Waker did as well.

    This… THIS is perfection. I will play as link, and only sexy Adult link, because Sakurai finally did his fuggin’ homework.

    Case dismissed. 😛

  29. 29 darkshadedx 06/17/2010 at 11:09 AM

    Calamatis screw you and your closed minded Zelda designs…
    anyway it is a very nice texture although I agree with BSZ on the whole “Pants” (I’m from the UK so therefore that means underwear)

    Also Roo you disappoint me, why no love for Lexxie??

  30. 30 shadowsquid86 06/17/2010 at 11:12 AM

    Fine. He needs baggier trousers.

  31. 31 Calamitas 06/17/2010 at 11:14 AM

    @darkshadedx:
    What the hell do you mean by close minded Zelda designs?

  32. 32 darkshadedx 06/17/2010 at 11:17 AM

    Calamatis: By that I mean how you don’t like the style of Skyward Sword.. its just as beautiful as any other Zelda game..
    will someone please tell me why people hate cell shaded graphics so much? They look awesome… just as much as Twilight Princess does.

    And as any gamer will tell you, a game is about gameplay, and not graphics.

  33. 33 shadowsquid86 06/17/2010 at 11:19 AM

    No, you see, he said that his opinion is the polar opposite of that. He was listing the general opinion of the game and countering.

  34. 34 darkshadedx 06/17/2010 at 11:19 AM

    >> K, that came out wrong..
    I meant screw the guys who have closed minds about the Zelda design.. ‘cept I got the sentance talking about your texture mixed up with my moaning. Disregard that.

  35. 35 yoshi6852 06/17/2010 at 11:31 AM

    I don’t know what to think about the graphics, but the game itself looks amazing, so that is much more important, If they game is good the graphics wont matter, if it’s bad well then the graphics will destroy it even further, but i’m not expecting it to be bad.

  36. 36 Roo 06/17/2010 at 2:31 PM

    @ DarkshadeDX
    What makes you think I have something against her? I know from hanging around here that she absolutely dispises Windwaker, and skywad sword has the same cel shading and whatnot.

  37. 37 Unai 06/18/2010 at 4:51 AM

    The game sucked for me… I expected to see better graphics than Twilight Princess. Also the control was very bad, it needs a lot of work.

  38. 38 Calamitas 06/18/2010 at 8:24 AM

    It doesn’t need work. The controls are just fine, they had just a lot of problems with the wireless stuff.

  39. 39 xithma 06/18/2010 at 1:55 PM

    i for one am really excited for this game. i reminds me of wind waker which is by far my fav zelda game ever made. i was pretty impressed with everything in e3, with the exception of kirby’s epic yarn which looked like A PILE OF FUCKING HORSE SHIT damn seriously idk why everyone’s so hyped up for that game it looked a complete disgrace in kirby gaming history for me

  40. 40 Sanity's_Theif 06/19/2010 at 11:25 AM

    I wonder if anyone around here would be interested in texture hacking the new Zelda game when it comes out to make it look like Twilight Princess again, I’m gonna try at least

    In Zelda games you’re supposed to feel connected, part of the world, Link himself, is you, you can change his name, he doesn’t talk really, even in the first Zelda games, Link was meant to represent the player

    Now by psychology, it’s easier for people to relate to something when it’s realistic, and when you take Zelda where Link represents the player, and your supposed to feel part of his world, and then you get thrown into a cartoon world, it just doesn’t add up well

    I very much liked TP’s design because it was relateable, I would just look at the landscape on my HD TV sometimes because it looked almost like it could be a real place, it deepened my connection with the game

    But the new cartoony painting styled look just detaches me from the game already, it’s like I’m watching a cartoon show or anime or something

    Wind Waker made me feel the same way except twice as much, nothing in that game was relateable at all so I found the environment didn’t capture my attention at all, it was just flat colors splashed around, not interesting at all

    I think it’s best when developers put detail into their textures instead splashing around flat colors with a little shading here and there

    Riivolution let’s us hack any Wii game AFAIK, so it’s possible, I think it would be a nice alternative to have realistic textures back in for the people who don’t agree with the new looks


Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,464,916 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 128 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

