My first attempt at a “new method” vertex hack and a texture


Yes, indeed. I’ve learned the “new vertex hacking method”, and can now show my first result! Though, learning isn’t quite a fitting word… I am still not able to finish my hacks on my own, and still needs the helps of others to actually finish them. But anyway.
The first thing I did with this was also one of my first vertex hack with the “old” method: Vaati.

Oh, and you might wonder what the “other texture” is? Well, I guess you are already able to tell what it is when I just say:
In the fast forests of Hyrule Eagleland, there echoes a legend…

In addition to just redoing the model, I also completly edited most of his textures, to improve them.
I completly remade the eyes, but two different versions of them this time. The one version has Vaati’s eyes based of artwork from Minish Cap, whereas the other version has the eyes based on how they appear in the Minish Cap manga which I found a while ago.
Since I didn’t perfectly like either of the two eye version, I simply included both versions in the download.

…I guess this is the part where I have to say something about the Ness texture. Well, I just randomly came up with the idea for that, and thought that it would make a quite good texture. I simply took Toon Link’s textures, and edited them to fit Ness.

Now for the downloads…
Vaati:

Link Ness:


9 Responses to “My first attempt at a “new method” vertex hack and a texture”


  1. 1 Haxor 07/31/2010 at 8:26 AM

    Fir-*Shot*
    Vaati looks great!
    Ness…… Just creeps me out 😛

  2. 2 NecroMaster 07/31/2010 at 10:12 AM

    This is weird, I made a young link texture on ness a while ago. It sucked though.

  3. 3 razanak7 07/31/2010 at 11:07 AM

    You can definitely see the improvements for Vaati. And TL Ness made me lol.

  4. 4 The Right Honorable Judge Wallace P. Grindstump 07/31/2010 at 3:09 PM

    Vaati definitely looks better, However I think the hair could still use some improvement.

  5. 5 calamitasx 07/31/2010 at 3:26 PM

    ^Please not… please not…
    You don’t know how much pain this model has caused to me…

  6. 6 fireking220 07/31/2010 at 3:46 PM

    that vatti model looks seamless. Nicely done. Are you planning on giving him more of his features?

  7. 7 calamitasx 07/31/2010 at 4:19 PM

    ^The only thing I could think of would be giving him a cape or working a little more on his hat… I can’t do the first one, and the second one would most likely not work, since hat edits are really likely to end up screwed up… so, nyeh, not really. D:

  8. 8 flaminshrooms 08/01/2010 at 8:10 PM

    Because four Vaatis isn’t enough

  9. 9 Chicken Chaser 08/02/2010 at 7:01 AM

    Fuck yeah, I love seeing my textures being greatly improved by others.
    This is fantastic, good job.


Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,463,854 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 127 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

