Vertex hacking method to easily fix hair glitches!


First of all, I’d like to credit StarWaffle for telling me how this works. I’m not sure if he’s the one who found this method, but still, props to him. This is just a small tutorial on how to use it. This really helps if you have issues with vertex hacking hair and importing it back on the original model. It’s helpful for anything else, too, but this is the main reason I use it.

First, patch your model, and if it doesn’t work properly in Brawl Box, double patch it. I hope you know how patching works. For example, if you’re vertex hacking Peach, or Toon Link, and that double patching didn’t fix the hair, then follow this. Of course, this tutorial works for anything, not just hair.

– Export the model data of the model which needs some fixes (In my case, Peach’s hair)

– Create the DAE with AiS 1.3.

– Import it over your final vertex hack (In my case, the max scene file). Be sure to check “Import units” and “Import Up-Axis”! This is very important.

– Check the Scale option on Mariokart64n’s latest script, then “Fix AiS import”. This will scale the model to your vertex hack, and fix the import.

– Then, import the vertices of the semi-working model you imported in Brawl Box.

– Choose the polygon of the semi-working model (In my case, polygon 9, which is Peach’s hair). Do NOT choose the polygon of the finished model! You have to choose the one from the model you imported.

– Go in Morpher, right-click on “-empty-“, choose to pick from the scene, then pick the max file’s working hair polygon. Change the number next to it (Should be 0.0), to 100.

– Do it again for the 2nd “-empty-” slot, and choose the vertices you imported earlier. Make the number 100 again.

– Then, go in Brawl Box, get the MDL0 offset of your vertex set, including the minus, then put it in the offset box of Mariokart64n’ script. Uncheck the “Read offset from file” option.

– Lastly, export the vertices over your model.

– You’re done!

NOTE: If your vertex hack still doesn’t work properly, you have to repeat all of this again, until you get it to work. On my case, it took me 7 tries to get Peach’s hair to work, and 2 tries to get her shoes to work. Overall, it took me about 20 minutes.

Good luck!

Example of working hair: http://img829.imageshack.us/img829/8848/wootc.png

Note: This is not the final texture, it was just the texture I had made to help me in 3ds Max.


17 Responses to “Vertex hacking method to easily fix hair glitches!”


  1. 1 darkshadedx 09/19/2010 at 6:50 AM

    Think this would fix up my Honey vertex?

  2. 2 GameWatching 09/19/2010 at 10:14 AM

    hum…

    this would helps a bunch !
    i will try it out !

  3. 3 The Right Honorable Judge Wallace P. Grindstump 09/19/2010 at 4:53 PM

    I’ll have to try this as well. Also, Tron Bonne?! Fuck yeah!

  4. 4 BigSharkZ 09/19/2010 at 5:49 PM

    @Darkshadex

    If you’re talking about hair, yes. But, I recommend patching and double patching first. Then, if it still doesn’t work, use this method.

    @GameWatching

    Alright, good luck.

    @PAVGN

    Thanks, and here’s more progress on her:


  5. 5 The Right Honorable Judge Wallace P. Grindstump 09/19/2010 at 5:54 PM

    @BigSharkZ

    Fuckin’ sweet! She can’t come out soon enough! 😀

  6. 6 BigSharkZ 09/19/2010 at 6:31 PM

    @BigSharkZ

    Haha, thanks. Right now, I’m making alternate outfits. Then, I’ll finish her two other weapons, make Toad a scared Servbot, and her vegetables Servbot heads with different expressions.

  7. 7 The Right Honorable Judge Wallace P. Grindstump 09/19/2010 at 6:32 PM

    @BigSharkZ

    You just replied to yourself. 😄

  8. 8 BigSharkZ 09/19/2010 at 7:00 PM

    @PAVGN

    Woah, what? Either someone changed my comment, or I’m going crazy, because I swear I typed “PAVGN”.

    Anyway, one outfit, MvC2 style: http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/7338/mvc21.png

  9. 9 Nuke 09/21/2010 at 10:08 PM

    Thanks,man.Uryuu’s hair was skrewed when I double patched.I haven’t tried this yet tho

  10. 10 power 10/23/2010 at 12:21 PM

    hmm… a little late, but nevertheless, when doing this method after double patching has failed, the many times you do it, is it supposed to get worse and worse?

    EX- I edited Toon link’s hair and (doubled) patched. The body is fixed but the hair remains a mess. I tried this method and the hair, each time, grows more outward, longer and longer. Is this natural?

  11. 11 BigSharkZ 10/26/2010 at 6:55 AM

    @Power

    How many times did you patch exactly? I have never tried this method with Toon Link, but with Peach, it did get worse each time I would patch it, then it suddenly started to fix by itself after 9 patches.

  12. 12 Power 10/27/2010 at 6:47 AM

    I am on my 7th patch, and his hair still grows outward.

  13. 13 Froznhobo 05/24/2011 at 5:46 PM

    What is AiS, exactly?

  14. 14 how to lose belly fat in women fast 12/31/2012 at 2:46 PM

    Pretty! This was a really wonderful article. Many thanks for supplying these details.

  15. 15 sex health 04/26/2013 at 8:29 AM

    Hi there, the whole thing is going well here and ofcourse every one
    is sharing information, that’s truly excellent, keep up writing.

  16. 16 Autumn 07/31/2013 at 8:13 PM

    I do not leave a response, but I browsed a bunch of remarks on
    this page Vertex hacking method to easily fix hair glitches!
    | Elite Smash Hackers. I do have 2 questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Could it be simply me or do some of the responses look like they are left
    by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I would like to
    follow you. Would you list of all of your shared
    pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?


  1. 1 Fat Kid Breaks Plasma TV playing Wii | Shopping For TVs net Trackback on 09/19/2010 at 11:39 AM

Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,461,577 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 127 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

