He’s back? Well.. kinda! (inb4 TL;DR)


Hello everyone, BigSharkZ here.

It sure has been a while, huh? I’ve been thinking of going back to the Super Smash Bros. Brawl hacking community since I lastly left, but there are some complications right now, and that is why I am asking for your help. Atleast, to whoever cares and/or still comes on this website.

To start things off, I was wondering whether or not I should ask this question to you, fellow readers. As most of you know, my Wii is broken and I cannot use my capture card anymore, as my previous old computer died and my new one does not have the plug entry I require for my internal capture card. I’ve been looking for a job since I left the scene in order to pay for things I really need, but so far I barely got any luck. I managed to find a spot with Ubisoft / VMC Game Labs to test one of their upcoming games, but that alone is not enough for what I mainly need, which is why I am asking for a little support if I am not sounding too harsh.

This is not principally for modifying this game, but also for my future career, which approaches at grand steps everyday. Precisely, what I basically need right now is a new capture card, a better processor for my computer and a tablet. Then there would be the purchase of a new Wii but that is not as important for two reasons. One, it’s completely optional for what I am currently studying on, and two, not too long ago I managed to purchase a 8 GB USB stick to play Super Smash Bros. Brawl on, so atleast I can play one game. And yes, before you ask, I own the original game and it is how I used to play the game before my Wii stopped reading everything but the backup launcher (Yes, I did try cleaning it, multiple times). It was my only and best choice.

So, this is not really urgent or anything, and I am not forcing you to help me out, but I have added a Donate button to the side of this site. Help would be greatly appreciated and I thank you very much for your support and heck, still coming to this site.

Now that this is finally out of the way, I’ve been thinking about reviving this team. It was pretty sad how everyone just suddenly left and stopped being active or joined other teams. To me, anyway. A way to express this feeling would be similar to getting married and having children just to suddenly have them disappear. That is how I felt because of how I tried my best to take care of this team which I considered being a second family. So, if you’re interested in joining this team and perhaps reviving it with me, then please contact me at TehBigShark@gmail.com. Thank you.

Another thing related to my first portion of this message. I’m thinking about either making a new website linked to this one, or having a page on this one for this idea. Basically, a page or site related to every other thing I do. This includes sprite work, hacks for other games, drawings, videos, sculptures, animations, and all sorts of things not related to Super Smash Bros. Brawl. A bit like an online portfolio. Let me know if you’d be interested in following such a site.

Now, for the hacks (Which for some reason are all Zelda-related)! First, user GBC has worked on a port of Skyward Sword Link over Twilight Princess Link. Skyward Sword being one of my favorite Zelda games, I hurried to download his port, but was sadly disappointed by how it looked. The main problem was the lack of highlights in the eyes and how those looked.. well, creepy and unnatural. Another thing is how it seemed like the Master Sword wasn’t in its best state. Its textures also had the word “Demo” in them, so I presumed he did not take the latest Master Sword model. I spent a whole day modifying the textures. Not only have I fixed the eyes and highlight, I have also greatly improved the texture quality by making the textures sharper and twice as big with more detail. Not only that, I have made 5 different costumes based on the Brawl ones, but made them look more different from each other for the equipment. I have also made custom items from Skyward Sword. This includes the bomb and bow and arrows (Taken from Toon Link for the latter). Credits go to GBC for Fi on Navi and the Beetle on the boomerang. Oh, I have also included a few animations for Link to those interested. This includes his Skyward Sword run, a new taunt and a new falling animation based on how he falls in the sky.

Next, the same user, GBC, made a port of Demise on Ganondorf. This one looked much better than Link, however I wasn’t quite pleased with the hair and skin color and the lightning effects for his Final Smash, so I recolored his hair to look more orange, his skin to be darker and removed the effects. Included in this package are the texture, a Final Smash that makes him turn into the Imprisoned and a moveset made by Eldiran that makes him use his sword. I have replaced the original sword with Demise’s. To use the sword, simply do the down taunt. Taunt again to remove it.

As for the last two, it’s the famous Moon from Majora’s Mask. As a Final Smash for Toon Link and on Kirby. Big thanks to DivineOverlord for liking my custom Moon model and using it for his Final Smash. However, when I was testing it, I noticed that the Moon’s nose shape looked pretty odd. It was an issue with its vertices, so I simply fixed that. As for the other Moon, credits go to Pikazz for the original Kirby model. I have edited its textures and made a one-slot size mod (Which is optional) to make the Moon look bigger. Now, I know that model ports are possible know and that one could simply port the Moon on Kirby, but I do not know how to do this yet so this will have to do for now.

Here are the download links:

Skyward Sword Link package

Demise

The Moon (Final Smash)

The Moon on Kirby

Oh, and one last thing! Since I have lost all my files, I was wondering if any of you still had some of the hacks that are not uploaded on my account anymore. This includes the Kefka (God Form) results screen, Sigma on Metaknight, Moonside, Aiai on Diddy Kong and whatever else I may be missing. Thanks again!

Now, enough talking, and on to the pictures!


13 Responses to “He’s back? Well.. kinda! (inb4 TL;DR)”


  1. 1 valhalen 08/29/2012 at 3:25 AM

    Welcome back, Big Z!

  2. 2 Attainable (Dchen) 08/29/2012 at 8:37 AM

    This was quite a long post. I’ll read it a bit later, as I have to run to class…but…I was thinking about returning as well.

  3. 3 ShadowSnake 08/29/2012 at 9:29 AM

    Well i did not see this coming, great to have you back BSZ!

    i guess with you returning i will start posting on ESH as well, the site needs to be greatly revamped, with most of the team disbanded and affiliate teams closed down.

    With you returning im willing to help you rebuild ESH, let me know if you need any help on maintaining the site.

  4. 4 Pik 08/29/2012 at 9:40 AM

    It’s honestly a pleasure to see you back. The Brawl modding scene has changed so much, seeing someone who’s from the community’s roots is refreshing.

    And you came back with a pretty damn good set of hacks, too. Keep at it BSZ! Hope you can get those funds you need too, man. I’ll be glad to help out ESH in any way I can.

  5. 5 takashi 08/29/2012 at 10:42 AM

    Great to see someone from the old days of this place. I’ve been waiting for quite a long time to watch this come back. I’m a complete noob, but i’m willing to learn. I’ll be in your care.

  6. 6 Beyond 08/29/2012 at 1:13 PM

    BigSharkZ.

    Hello. =D

  7. 7 battleon469 08/29/2012 at 3:15 PM

    Oh hi It’s been a while since you last hacked! 🙂

  8. 8 razanak7 08/29/2012 at 4:34 PM

    Perhaps add a Tutorials section for those that need it? Since all I can do now is music, I want to be able to contribute something.

    As they say; those that can’t do, teach.

  9. 9 Pbsmurderer 08/29/2012 at 5:23 PM

    I would like to join the team, but alas, my coding skills are not quite up to sniff, and I dont know jack about models. Maybe next year after my semester course.

  10. 10 gran 08/29/2012 at 6:01 PM

    :O!!! Great to see you back! Always loved your contributions to the community! Your rock Big Shark Z!

  11. 11 Segtendo 08/29/2012 at 8:18 PM

    You’re… you’re alive?! O__O
    Nice stuff. Seems like you have the hang of importing already.

  12. 12 Lexx 09/01/2012 at 11:18 AM

    This is surprising. I’m not sure how I feel about this. Either way, nice to see that you’re still alive.

  13. 13 joshua 11/03/2012 at 6:01 PM

    I whant to know how to put the smash please!!!! and how to put PSA characters


Leave a Reply

Welcome to ESH!

  • 5,461,645 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers

Archives

Copyright

We, Elite Smash Hackers members, as the authors of this blog, take absolutely no credit in anything we modify and/or create. Therefore, everything we make, even if it may come from another game that isn't published or made by Nintendo, is based from and belongs to both Nintendo and Hal Laboratory. We do not support the usage of pirating games for this use and trust that our fans have the game beforehand.

